Instructor teaching America’s Boating Course in a classroom setting. Photo/USCG
A free Boating Basics Course will be held at the Marion Police Department in Marion, Massachusetts, from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. May 17 and 24, and from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. on June 21 and 28, 2014. Attendance is required both days to pass the course.
Students must be at least 12 years old to attend. Youth 12 through 15 who successfully complete the course will be issued a Boating Safety Certificate allowing them to operate a motorboat without adult supervision, as required by state law.
The course also satisfies the state requirements for personal watercraft users who are 16 or 17 years of age.
To view current course listings or to join the mailing list visit Boat and Recreation Vehicle Safety Bureau
Register online at Boat Massachusetts Course Information
Share this Article On
Follow NEW ENGLAND BOATING:
Like New England Boating on Facebook
. Follow us on Twitter
Receive our Daily News Update: .
Don’t forget to sign up for our monthly newsletter!
Each month our emailed newsletter keeps you up to speed on the top news items, videos, destinations, reviews and fishing articles on New England Boating, so you won’t miss a beat. It’s convenient, it’s free, and you can opt out at any time!
About the Author
Tom Richardson is the director and host of New England Boating. Before that he served as the editor of Northeast Boating from 2005 to 2009, and as managing editor of Salt Water Sportsman magazine from 1995 to 2004. He lives, boats and fishes in southeastern Massachusetts with his wife and three kids.